Thursday, February 16, 2012

>>>Subfamily Buteoninae


American Golden Eagle
(Aquila chrysaetos canadensis)
Scientific classification
(or Accipitriformes, q.v.)
About 2 dozen, see article
Buteoninae is a bird of prey subfamily which consists of medium to large broad-winged species.
They have large powerful hooked beaks for tearing flesh from their prey, strong legs and powerful talons. They also have extremely keen eyesight to enable them to spot potential prey from a distance.
This subfamily contains the buzzardstrue eagles and sea eagles.


  • Genus Geranoaetus - Black-chested Buzzard-Eagle
  • Genus Buteo - buteonine hawks (North America) or buzzards (Europe): nearly 30 species (probably paraphyletic, might include Leucopternis in part andParabuteo)
  • Genus Parabuteo - Harris's Hawk
  • Genus Buteogallus - crab hawks: 5 species (probably paraphyletic, might include Leucopternis in part and Harpyhaliaetus)
  • Genus Busarellus - Black-collared Hawk
  • Genus Leucopternis - grey hawks (probably polyphyletic)
    • Plumbeous Hawk, Leucopternis plumbeus
    • Slate-colored Hawk, Leucopternis schistaceus
    • Barred Hawk, Leucopternis princeps
    • Black-faced Hawk, Leucopternis melanops
    • White-browed Hawk, Leucopternis kuhli
    • White-necked Hawk, Leucopternis lacernulatus
    • Semiplumbeous Hawk, Leucopternis semiplumbeus
    • White Hawk, Leucopternis albicollis
    • Grey-backed Hawk, Leucopternis occidentalis
    • Mantled Hawk, Leucopternis polionotus
  • Genus Kaupifalco - Lizard Buzzard
  • Genus Butastur
    • Grasshopper Buzzard, Butastur rufipennis
    • White-eyed Buzzard, Butastur teesa
    • Rufous-winged Buzzard, Butastur liventer
    • Grey-faced Buzzard, Butastur indicus
  • Genus Harpyhaliaetus - solitary eagles
    • Crowned Solitary Eagle, Harpyhaliaetus coronatus
    • Montane Solitary Eagle, Harpyhaliaetus solitarius
  • Genus Morphnus - Crested Eagle
  • Genus Harpia - Harpy Eagle
  • Genus Pithecophaga - Philippine Eagle
  • Genus Harpyopsis - Papuan Eagle
  • Genus Oroaetus
    • Black-and-chestnut Eagle, Oroaetus isidori
  • Genus Spizastur
    • Black-and-white Hawk-Eagle, Spizastur melanoleucus
  • Genus Spizaetus crested hawk-eagles: c.4 species
  • Genus Nisaetus - c.9 species
  • Genus Lophaetus - Long-crested Eagle (possibly junior synonym of Ictinaetus)
  • Genus Stephanoaetus - Crowned Eagle
  • Genus Polemaetus - Martial Eagle
  • Genus "Hieraaetus" - hawk-eagles: 3 species; Genus name unavailable or belongs in Aquila
  • Genus Lophotriorchis - Rufous-bellied Hawk-Eagle
  • Genus Aquila - true eagles: c.12 species; paraphyletic
  • Genus Ictinaetus - Black Eagle
  • Genus Haliaeetus - sea eagles and brown fish-eagles: 8 species
  • Genus Ichthyophaga - grey fish eagles: 2 species
  • Genus Harpagornis - might belong into Aquila
    • Haast's Eagle, Harpagornis moorei (extinct)

No comments: